A good book has no ending. ~ R.D. Cumming

Friday, September 24, 2010

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Product Details  The Hunger Games, Catching Fire & Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

I originally intended to write for each of these separately, but having the good fortune to have had them lent to me all at once, and, therefore, being able to finish them all in succession I realized that it would be better to write about them collectively as a whole.

These books were phenomenal! They are intended for a "young adult" audience, and therefore contain no swearing or sex. They do, however, contain quite a bit of violence (not overly graphic, mind you) but given the subject of the novels I don't think there was any way around that. I enjoyed these 3 books thoroughly and couldn't pick a favourite out of the trio if asked. They all tie in so well with each other, and I would highly recommend reading them in succession, as I was able to, because once you put the first book down you will want the second (and third!) book right at hand to begin immediately!

The Hunger Games trilogy takes place in the nation of Panem, which is essentially what is left of North America after hundreds of years, and some natural disasters. There are 12 districts surrounding The Capital, which is the core of Panem. There was a period, about 75 years or so before The Hunger Games story takes place, called the Dark Days when all 13 districts rebelled and tried to take down The Capital. District 13 was wiped out as an example of what happens when the citizens go against The Capital, and that is when The Hunger Games were created. Each of the 12 remaining districts must send 1 boy and 1 girl into an arena to fight to the death. The motive behind creating the "Games" was to institute a means of punishment for the uprising and to serve as a constant reminder of The Capital's control over the citizens of Panem.

I don't want to go into too much detail about the plot because I think it is best read with no expectations or pre-formed ideas about what will happen. I had these books recommended to me with no real idea about the story, other than a brief explaination of the Hunger Games, and so I suggest others do the same.

I very highly suggest these novels to all readers. I think this trilogy falls into the same category as novels like "Twilight" and "Harry Potter": designed for young adult readers, but appealing to a wider audience of varying ages. You miss out by not reading these!

No comments:

Post a Comment